Shared Ownership Eligibility Check

Are you eligible for a Shared Ownership home?

Eligibility will vary depending on which development you are looking at purchasing, the property size and whether there are any criteria imposed by the local authority. There are however, some general, over-arching criteria you will need to meet. You can use our tool below to see if you meet the over-arching criteria for Shared Ownership eligibility.

General Shared Ownership eligibility criteria

  • You must be aged 18 or older.
  • Your annual household income if buying outside of London must be less than £80,000.
  • Your annual household income if buying in London must be less than £90,000.
  • You will normally be a first time buyer or be in the process of selling your home. You must not own any other property at the time you buy your new home.
  • You should not be able to afford to buy a home on the open market which is suitable for your housing needs.
  • You must be able to show you are not in rent or mortgage arrears.
  • You must be able to demonstrate that you have a good credit history (no County Court Judgements or bad debts) and can afford the costs and regular payments involved in buying a home.

Please note: You should always check the eligibility required with the specific development, as there may be specific criteria.

Priority for Shared Ownership

In some instances priority for Shared Ownership properties can be given to applicants:

  • That work for the Minsitry of Defence.
  • Who are council and housing association tenants.
  • Who live or work in the borough in which the property is located over those who currently live or work outside it.
  • On some developments, secondary priority is given to applicants who live or work in the neighbouring boroughs.

Watch our guide to Shared Ownership video

Use our tool to check your Shared Ownership eligibility

Where are you looking to buy a Shared Ownership property?